‘Nothing Missed’ published in War of the Worlds: Battleground Australia

I'm at this extremely satisfying point in my writing career where I'm being asked to contribute to both literary and genre publications. May it go on forever! Most recently, I have published a story, 'Nothing Missed', in the anthology War of the Worlds: Battleground Australia, edited by Steve Proposch, Christopher Sequeira and Bryce Stevens. My story … Continue reading ‘Nothing Missed’ published in War of the Worlds: Battleground Australia

The Great Unknown authors: Guy Salvidge

This is the sixth post published in conjunction with the release of The Great Unknown this month, where authors share their experience of writing eerie stories for the anthology, and give you an idea of what to expect (and, I hope, look forward to). The Great Unknown is available to pre-order from Booktopia, Readings, Fishpond (free shipping worldwide) and all good bookstores. You might … Continue reading The Great Unknown authors: Guy Salvidge

’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

This Perfect Day is a dystopian sci-fi novel, published in 1970, in the vein of Brave New World and Logan’s Run. People are born into a happy (read: bland) unified society, ruled by UniComp, which is literally a giant computer. Over the generations heterogeneity has been genetically blended out, and every member of ‘The Family’ … Continue reading ’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

Choosing to fly: When We Have Wings by Claire Corbett

Allen & Unwin, 2011 9781742375564  (buy Aus paperback, ebook, US/Kindle)  The main theme, and dilemma, for the two main characters in When We Have Wings is an old one: how do we deal with technological progress, the divides it can create (between classes, between generations), and the power it may provide to a privileged few? More specifically, … Continue reading Choosing to fly: When We Have Wings by Claire Corbett

20 Classics #8: Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

I’m reading 20 classic, modern-classic or cult books. I aimed to read them all in 2011, but that's beginning to look unlikely. Read more about this project here. Why did I want to read it? I had vague ideas about Gulliver’s Travels. I remembered Ted Danson being tied up by some little people in a film version I … Continue reading 20 Classics #8: Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

Guest review: Lyndon Riggall on Embassytown by China Miéville

9780230754317 Pan Macmillan, May 2011 (Aus, UK, US/Kindle) Reviewed by Lyndon Riggall I admit defeat. I’ve been trying to present these events with a structure. I simply don’t know how everything happened. Perhaps because I didn’t pay proper attention, perhaps because it wasn’t a narrative, but for whatever reasons, it doesn’t want to be what I want to … Continue reading Guest review: Lyndon Riggall on Embassytown by China Miéville