Qantas SOYA People’s Choice: love me love me love me

Earlier this year I entered the Qantas Spirit of Youth Awards in the Written Word category. I was highly commended, which was lovely—something to put on the CV—but now I have a chance at the People's Choice Award, which comes with a flight voucher (which would truly come in handy). If you're a fan of my writing, … Continue reading Qantas SOYA People’s Choice: love me love me love me

’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

This Perfect Day is a dystopian sci-fi novel, published in 1970, in the vein of Brave New World and Logan’s Run. People are born into a happy (read: bland) unified society, ruled by UniComp, which is literally a giant computer. Over the generations heterogeneity has been genetically blended out, and every member of ‘The Family’ … Continue reading ’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

Countdown to Byron Bay Writers Festival

I've been in a lot of aeroplanes lately - flying out from Melbourne, flying in novels, and in dreams. Sometimes the ports look similar. Familiar, unfamiliar. My life is literature, is writing, is reading, and always passion, and there are good and bad things about being intertwined with fiction, about consistent imagining. It can be expansive, … Continue reading Countdown to Byron Bay Writers Festival