The Great Unknown authors: Deborah Biancotti

This is the eleventh post published in conjunction with the release of The Great Unknown, where authors share their experience of writing eerie stories for the anthology. The Great Unknown is available from Booktopia, Readings, Avid Reader, Fishpond (free shipping worldwide) and all good bookstores. You might also want to add it to your shelves on Goodreads. Deborah Biancotti is a regular on genre fiction … Continue reading The Great Unknown authors: Deborah Biancotti

The Great Unknown authors: Chris Flynn

This is the tenth post published in conjunction with the release of The Great Unknown, where authors share their experience of writing eerie stories for the anthology. The Great Unknown is available from Booktopia, Readings, Avid Reader, Fishpond (free shipping worldwide) and all good bookstores. You might also want to add it to your shelves on Goodreads. Chris Flynn is the author of A Tiger in … Continue reading The Great Unknown authors: Chris Flynn

The Great Unknown authors: Guy Salvidge

This is the sixth post published in conjunction with the release of The Great Unknown this month, where authors share their experience of writing eerie stories for the anthology, and give you an idea of what to expect (and, I hope, look forward to). The Great Unknown is available to pre-order from Booktopia, Readings, Fishpond (free shipping worldwide) and all good bookstores. You might … Continue reading The Great Unknown authors: Guy Salvidge

’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

This Perfect Day is a dystopian sci-fi novel, published in 1970, in the vein of Brave New World and Logan’s Run. People are born into a happy (read: bland) unified society, ruled by UniComp, which is literally a giant computer. Over the generations heterogeneity has been genetically blended out, and every member of ‘The Family’ … Continue reading ’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

Choosing to fly: When We Have Wings by Claire Corbett

Allen & Unwin, 2011 9781742375564  (buy Aus paperback, ebook, US/Kindle)  The main theme, and dilemma, for the two main characters in When We Have Wings is an old one: how do we deal with technological progress, the divides it can create (between classes, between generations), and the power it may provide to a privileged few? More specifically, … Continue reading Choosing to fly: When We Have Wings by Claire Corbett

Some of my short stories available as ebooks

I decided to extend the life of some of my short stories that have been published in journals/magazines over the last few years, by publishing them digitally. It's a bit of a (fairly safe) experiment in self-publishing and the world of ebooks. I'm loving reading on my Kobo eReader, and I've made these stories available … Continue reading Some of my short stories available as ebooks