‘Micro’ in Kill Your Darlings‘ Speculative Fiction and Fantasy Showcase

Burned-out citizens have begun handing over their small-scale decisions to AI in the hope of making big decisions easier, in my new short story 'Micro', published in Kill Your Darlings' Speculative Fiction and Fantasy Showcase, alongside such excellent writers as Jane Rawson, J.R. Hennessy, Claire Corbett, and J.A. Haigh. I hope you enjoy it!

A dystopic vision: The Ark by Annabel Smith

When I first heard about Annabel Smith's project, The Ark, I was intrigued. Here was an excellent literary author (I'm a big fan of her novel Whisky Charlie Foxtrot) tackling not only speculative fiction, but a whole different format. The Ark is about the inhabitants of a sealed seed vault, in a near future where resources are rapidly dwindling. … Continue reading A dystopic vision: The Ark by Annabel Smith

’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

This Perfect Day is a dystopian sci-fi novel, published in 1970, in the vein of Brave New World and Logan’s Run. People are born into a happy (read: bland) unified society, ruled by UniComp, which is literally a giant computer. Over the generations heterogeneity has been genetically blended out, and every member of ‘The Family’ … Continue reading ’70s-style dystopia: This Perfect Day by Ira Levin

20 classics in 2011 #6: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I’m reading 20 classic, modern-classic or cult books in 2011. Read more about this project here. Why did I want to read it? I love Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four, and dystopian fiction in general. Plus, the sections of my work-in-progress that people have read have been compared to Brave New World. I thought it was about time I read it … Continue reading 20 classics in 2011 #6: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Melbourne Writers Festival 2009 diary part three: future cities, beautiful rhythms and a literal ending

'I just blogged' I said to my friends when I ran into them, flustered, between sessions. Chris Flynn looked at me and said 'that sounds dirty', like 'I just did a blog', 'I just dropped one' and other variations. And now, the word blog is RUINED for me. But I was enlightened by two things: … Continue reading Melbourne Writers Festival 2009 diary part three: future cities, beautiful rhythms and a literal ending

Steven Amsterdam – a 'responsive' interview

Read the LiteraryMinded review of Steven Amsterdam's Things We Didn't See Coming, Sleepers Publishing, 9781740667012, 2009 (Aus, US) Prompts - LiteraryMinded. Responses - Steven Amsterdam. Beginnings I was inspired by a few loose pieces in the news, from life, the partisan splay of the 2004 election in the US, and my nervous mind, so I … Continue reading Steven Amsterdam – a 'responsive' interview